architecture room indoors auditorium
Photo by Donald Tong on Pexels.com

It’s been a stressful couple of weeks.

As I said in my last post, I was very ill for 6 days, which meant that I missed my second shift at work and couldn’t leave my bed for days on end. So not the best start to my new job.

And then it’s been stressful at work. I thought that I’d get more training, maybe shadow someone for the first couple of shifts so they can show me what to do. But no. They don’t have enough hours or enough staff to be able to double up, so I went straight in at the deep end, covering all of the jobs on the floor by myself. And typically, it’s been an absolute manic first week, with the release of Bohemian Rhapsody, Fantastic Beasts 2, and The Grinch.

I don’t blame them in any way though. It’s not their fault that they can’t offer more training. The managers have said that in an ideal world they would love to give us more training when we start, and that they are only a radio away if we have any questions or need any help. So that’s comforting.

Despite it being a very overwhelming first week, I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. I haven’t had a retail shift yet, so there’s still a lot more to learn!

Unfortunately I’ve gone from one illness to another, with a pain in the arse cold to deal with now! But that’s fine, I can deal with a cold. Onwards and upwards!

**I would like to apologise for the shocking writing quality of this post, my brain isn’t quite back to normal yet! I will try to make more sense in the next one!**

I’ll see you all soon. xo

Every single job is a challenge. You are walking into a new set, a new character, creating a world and trying to get comfortable to do your best work.

– Felicia Day

Leave a comment